Simply “Superb”

Chambers and Partners 2020 includes no fewer than 19 references to New Park Court members and the most frequently used adjective to describe them is ‘superb’.

Robert Smith QC maintains his top ranking as a ‘Star Individual’ on circuit and is joined this year by Paul Greaney QC who is described as ‘without doubt one of the leading advocates in the country’, and a ‘superb tactician’.

Banded just beneath them are Alistair MacDonald QCfantastic’ and Jason Pitter QC described simply as ‘superb at what he does’. In Band 3, Nicholas Lumley QC is also regarded as ‘superb’; Simon Kealey QC is ‘meticulous’, and the ‘esteemedRobert Woodcock QC is ‘highly regarded’.

Paul Greaney QC is also recognised for his work in financial crime where ‘he has the complete set of skills’, inquests and inquiries where he is regarded as ‘first class’, and in professional discipline matters where he is ranked alongside Jason Pitter QC and Sharon Beattie. Jason is particularly praised for his client care – ‘he knew everything about the case and the client and I feel he gave me much more assistance than I paid for’ while Sharon, head of Chambers’ regulatory and professional discipline team, is ‘a very good and considered barrister’.

Among New Park Court’s outstanding criminal juniors are the ‘exceptionalNicholas de la Poer, listed at Band 1, who ‘knows how to get the best out of witnesses’ and the ‘very able and very goodGeraldine Kelly. Matthew Donkin is considered ‘extremely capable, thorough and a very good team player’ while Adam Birkby is both ‘well respected’ and ‘dogged’ and is just one of five juniors listed on circuit in Band 2.

Nicholas de la Poer is also recognised in Financial crime where he is regarded as ‘wonderful on his feet, hugely diplomatic and extremely bright.’ And Lee Fish is recognised as a ‘true environmental law practitioner’.

Commenting on the citations, Tim Coulson, New Park Court’s Chambers Director and CEO said, ‘I am delighted that so many members continue to be recognised in this way; clearly it takes extraordinary ability both to reach such heights and to stay there year after year. I am particularly pleased for those recognised for the first time and for the clerking team, under the direction of Teresa Pugh, who are also correctly identified as ‘fantastic’’.

Robert Smith KC
Call 1971
QC 1986

Alistair MacDonald KC
Call 1983
QC 2000

Robert Woodcock KC

Robert Woodcock KC
Call 1978
QC 2009

Paul Greaney KC
Call 1993
QC 2010

Nicholas Lumley KC
Call 1992
QC 2012

Jason Pitter KC
Call 1994
QC 2014

Simon Kealey KC
Call 1991
QC 2017

Geraldine Kelly
Call 1996

Nicholas de la Poer KC
Call 2003
QC 2020

Matthew Donkin
Call 2004

Adam Birkby

Adam Birkby
Call 2006

Lee Fish
Call 2003

Sharon Beattie KC
Call 1986
QC 2021

14th Oct 2019








Portfolio close
Title Type CV Email

Remove All


Click here to email this list.